Is Entitlement the Norm?

Honestly – I love my job! The daily interactions with so many people from all walks of life, from CEOs of major corporations to employees at the local gas station. However, what I don’t appreciate is people who feel that they are entitled to anything and everything they want, regardless of the rules, requests, and without regard to common courtesy.

Today, I was both threatened, that I “better reconsider” someone’s registration because they didn’t want to pay $30, and received the below e-mail.

“If there was a problem with my or anyone registration  how come i did not get an email good or bad we should be getting some thing???????

Do I have to do them ALL AGAIN??????????

EVERYTHING WENT THROUGH FINE, NO ISSUES WHEN I GOT TO THE END.I EVEN ATTACHED EVERYTHING YOU ASKED FOR LIKE LAST YEAR!

I can send you a spread sheet JUST like last year!! this is such a pain whey does not your site work like it is suppose to??????????

I f im having problems so are others, I did not do anything wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

So I pose the question: Specifically, in the workplace setting, is it right to converse with someone for the first time with anything other than utmost respect? Tell me what you think!

I guess I was raised differently, because my mom would have had the wooden spoon out had I spoken to someone like this, regardless of whether I knew them or not, and probably regardless of how old I was!

https://i0.wp.com/confessionsofanadoptiveparent.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/TantrumTuesdaypic.001.jpg

Leave a Reply

