Did you do that? Warning, you didn’t do that!

I am a firm believer in the saying “if you give a man a fish, he will eat for a day, if you teach a man to fish, he will eat for a lifetime”. So I always encourage those on the other end of the phone to do the registration process themselves, but I will happily walk them through the process. Unfortunately, sometimes that backfires on me… Yesterday, I had one such caller.

(M=Me & C=Client)

C= the system keeps denying my registration

M= oh, that’s not good (thinking, our system doesn’t deny registrations), are you at your computer now?

C=Yes, but I just want you to register me

M= well, it will take less time if you answer the questions over the computer because of the multiple choice options, but I will of course walk you through the process over the phone. (that was apparently improper information)

C=My name is (obviously, not the callers real name) “a..b..c..d..e..f”

M=Are you entering the information into the registration screen?

C=”g..h..i..j..k”

M= Sir, are you at website-a.com?

C=Yes

M=So, you’ll need to fill out the requested information on the screen, first name, last name, company name, and e-mail address.

C=Oh, you want ME to enter the information?

M=mmmhmmm

C=”a…b…c…d…e…f”   pause  “g..h..i..j..k”  pause  “abcdef@ghi.com” pause Now what do I do?

M= Select the Start Registration Button at the bottom

C= OK, now it asks for type of business, I selected that, now continue?

M=Did you also select the sub category for your business type?

C= I selected continue, and it is saying I didn’t select the sub category.

M=mmmhmmm

C=What should I select?

M=Well, what does your company do?

C=I’ll just select this first one – Now hit continue?

M=(Shaking head) Yes

C=So now it’s asking for more information. What is Title?

M=Your job title?

C=I don’t know what that is

M=Um, well, it’s what you do? the description of your job? So on your signature line for e-mails, most people have a job title under their name?

C=So, Sales?

M=Sure! (of course when I looked at the registration after he completed it, it actually said “Saler”)

C=What do I put in the address field?

M=(remembering the article my boss had just sent me about Disney’s approach to the “what time is the 3’Oclock parade”) You’ll want to put your business address in that field, if you’re business is in another country, you’ll just need to change the country field so that you can enter the address in the correct format.

C=Searching for addressentering information So now I hit continue?

M=Make sure to select the check box that says “I agree to the show policies”

C=Hmmm, passport information… “a…b…c…d…e…f” So now do I hit continue?

M=Did you select the check box that says “I agree to the show policies”?

C=I hit continue and I got a warning that says I didn’t select the box that I agree to the show policies.

M=Ok, so check the box that says “I agree to the show policies”

C=Now what, Continue?

M=(screaming in my head) If you checked the box that says “I agree to the show policies” then yes, hit continue.

C=So, when can I get my invitation letter?

M=Since you are a first time attendee, you’ll need to submit proof that your company fits into the category you selected during the first page of your registration. Once you complete your registration, you’ll get an e-mail that explains what can be submitted.

C=My invitation will be e-mailed to me?

M=You’ll receive your invitation letter once your registration has been confirmed, after business proof has been received.

C= OK, so what do I do now?

M=I think you just need to select Complete Registration

C= I don’t see complete registration. there are a bunch of buttons, which one do I choose?

M=Select the one that says Complete Registration, it is the last one in the list.

C=I have Upgrade, Add another, Child Badge, and Complete Registration – Oh, there it is!… Now I need to get my invitation letter, how do I do that.

M=As I explained earlier, you’ll need to submit proof that your company is a retailer. Once we have received that, and approved your registration, you’ll get a confirmation and your invitation letter.

C=Can I have your name?

M=Sure, it’s Sarah – s..a..r..a..h

C=S.a.r.h?

M=s…a…r…a…h

C=S.a.a.r.h?

M=s…..a…..r…..a….h

C=S.a.h

M=Yup. (I’d given up by this point)

C=And what’s your phone number?

M=Umm (yes, this question threw me, coming from a person who just called me), you just called our number, but it is 555-555-5555

C=OK – so for my invitation letter, I’ll just get that via e-mail right?

M=Once you submit proof of business, and your registration has been approved, then yes.

C=OK – I’ll call back. Thanks! ‘Click’

I’ve been told that I am an extremely patient person, but I had to take a walk with the dog and a friend after that call.

Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

